First Principles of Business Law

Government and law in Australia
5.2.  Legislatures
5.2.1. Legislatures in Australia










The House of Representatives


A legislature is a body with authority to make law. In Australia, the federal government, each state and each self-governing territory has its own legislature.

The federal legislature (or parliament) consists of the Crown, an upper house called the Senate, and a lower house called the House of Representatives. The houses are made up of members who represent the Australian voters.

State legislatures (or parliaments) consist of the Crown, an upper house and a lower house. Queensland is an exception - having abolished its upper house it now has a 'unicameral' (single chambered) legislature.

Self-governing territories have legislatures consisting of a single house of elected members called Legislative Assemblies. These legislatures are not normally referred to as 'parliaments'.

Question:  Is it true to say that the upper houses of state legislatures are called Legislative Councils while the lower houses, which used to have different names in different states, are now all called Legislative Assemblies?




Page 1 2 3 4 5 Back to the diagram
Go to the next topic Go to the previous topic Go to the list of topics Choose another module