First Principles of Business Law

Government and law in Australia
5.3. The executive
5.3.1. The structure of the executive





Federal and state governments in Australia all have what is called an ‘executive’ organ of government.  In Australia, an executive consists of the Crown; a chief minister; other ministers of government; and statutory bodies and offices.  Click on each of the terms listed below for an explanation.

The Crown

Ministers of government

The cabinet
The executive council

Statutory bodies and offices

Page 1 2 Back to the diagram
Go to the next topic Go to the previous topic Go to the list of topics Choose another module